Memorizing Psalm 119
Memorizing Psalm 119

Aleph
1 Joyful are people of integrity who follow the instructions of the LORD
2 Joyful are those who obey His laws and search for Him with all their hearts
3 They do not compromise with evil and they walk only in His paths
4 You have charged us to obey Your commandments carefully
5 Oh that my actions might consistently reflect Your decrees.
6 Then I will not be ashamed when I compare my life with Your commands.
7 As I learn Your righteous regulations I will thank You by living as I should
8 I will obey Your decrees. Please don’t give up on me.
Beth
9 How does a young person stay pure? By obeying Your word.
10 I have tried hard to find You. Don’t let me wander from Your commands.
11 I have hidden Your word in my heart that I might not sin against You.
12 I praise You, O LORD. Teach me Your decrees.
13 I have recited aloud all the regulations You have given us.
14 I have rejoiced in Your laws more than in riches.
15 I will study Your commandments and reflect on Your ways.
16 I will delight in Your decrees and not forget Your words.
Gimel
17 Be good to Your servant that I might live and obey Your word.
18 Open my eyes to see wonderful things in Your commandments.
19 I am only a foreigner in the land. Don’t hide your commands from me.
20 I am always overwhelmed with a desire for Your regulations.
21 You rebuke the arrogant and those who wander from Your commands are cursed.
22 Don’t let them scorn and insult me for I have obeyed Your laws.
23 Even princes sit and speak against me but I will meditate on Your decrees.
24 Your laws please me they give me wise advice.
Dahleth
25 I lie in the dust. Revive me by Your word.
26 I told You my plans and You answered. Now teach me Your decrees
27 Help me understand Your commandments and I will meditate on Your wonderful decrees.
28 I weep with sorrow. Encourage me by Your word.
29 Keep me from lying to myself. Give me the privilege of knowing Your instructions.
30 I have chosen to be faithful. I have determined to live by your regulations.
31 I cling to Your laws, LORD, do not let me be put to shame.
32 I will pursue Your commands for You expand my understanding.
He
33 Teach me Your decrees, LORD. I will keep them to the end
34 Give me understanding and I will obey Your instructions.

There are several places I get stuck but I am really solid through the first 18 verses, pretty solid through 26 and a little solid through 29 and working hard on verses 30 to 40. Will I memorize Psalm 119 by the 26th of September? I’m going to try but even now I know at least 29 verse than I did three weeks ago.

Leave a Reply

