I am so excited to be spending August with my youngest grands.
I am so excited to be spending August with my youngest grands.

The last few days of July 2013 (29th-31st)—our Area of Focus—The Family Bathroom(s). We have three days in our bathrooms so put extra effort into decluttering, organizing, and cleaning your bathroom(s). Make it shine and then make it lovely.
Today as we launch our week—quickly put your home in order after the weekend, clean your toilets, and check your bathroom supplies. Add any personal, paper, or cleaning supplies to your shopping list for whichever day you plan to do your shopping.
On Friday morning at 5:55 am, my flight will take off from the Richmond Airport to Houston and finally to Salt Lake City. I am beginning today to post in the evening for the next day. There is a two hour time difference that really shows its effect on me in the morning and evening. I try not to wait until the last moment to put plans into motion. I am going to try to go to bed later and sleep later this week so that next Monday I will be ready when Michael and Nicholas get up and go to sleep later than my body likes.
In order to be ready for the energy of a 2 year old and a 5 year old I plan to get up at 5:30 Utah time (7:30 Virginia time). I want to take a shower, get dressed, and have quiet time. I want to be ready to help them make their beds, get dressed and have breakfast in the works before we come down. While I am upstairs I plan to start a load of laundry. At that point in time the laundry will be started, three bedrooms in order, three people dressed, and three people fed. (Summer and Paul are on their own—they are big people and can get themselves out the door for work)
During the morning I am going to enjoy my grands. I am going to play with them, read to them, talk with them, and love them. I hope to take time regularly to put away toys so we don’t have a massive mess just before mom and dad come home. I am hoping to make enough for dinner each evening so we have leftovers for lunch most days. I am planning for three meals and two healthy snacks each day—fruit, cheese, veggies, hummus, occasionally cookies, emphasizing good nutrition.
In the afternoon, I am HOPING that we can take a rest together. I am hoping to cook dinner with the boys and get them involved with setting the table.
I will keep the laundry moving, and make sure the dishwasher is empty each morning so we can load our dirty dishes directly into the dishwasher instead of leaving them in the sink.
In the evening, I would like to bathe the boys and start heading them toward bed an hour before bedtime to give them time without electronics to wind down. After bath time I want to read to them and lay out their clothes for the next day.
I hope to blog in the evening. Spending time with small children will help me remember when my children were small and make sure the solutions I put forth are truly workable.
The point of all this is that I try to consider what is coming up and how best to deal with it. It doesn’t all work out as I hope. Planning ahead of time helps me in the way I respond to the challenges that WILL arise each day. Part of my planning is planning to be flexible.
Don’t wait until the last moment.
• Don’t get up as late as you can in the morning.
• Don’t leave for work or appointments as late as you can. Build in a buffer.
• Plan your meals ahead of time so you can make sure you have what you need to prepare it. Consider getting stickers for items you need for meals. Put a red sticker on anything you need for others not to touch or use up. Put a green sticker on snacks and other items family members are free to use. You can use a red sticker with a name on it for people who have special food needs.
• Don’t wait until morning to lay out your clothes. Make it a habit to check the clothes you plan to wear to make sure there are no stains, missing buttons, or broken zippers. Laying out your clothes gives you a few extra minutes to select your accessories and shoes in the evening.
o It’s so nice to have a valet hook on your door or in your closet to hang your clothes for the next day.
o Always have a back-up outfit in case you have a spill or something comes up after you are dressed.
o I also have a long denim vest I can throw on over my clean clothes when I am ready to head out the door but have a few last minute things to do.
• Have pickup times throughout the day so you home doesn’t get way beyond a 15 minute pick-up range.
• Teach yourself to pick up after yourself
o Put away your clothes and shoes when you take them off and put dirty clothes into the laundry
o Have trash receptacles conveniently located throughout your home and use them
o Put dirty dishes directly into your dishwasher
o Put away things where they go when you are finished with them.
Hugs until tomorrow,
Mary

Leave a Reply

