(I wrote this over 20 years ago. Today I thought I’d bring it out of the moth balls and share it with you)

The Greatest Love
The Greatest Love

The God kind of love (agape) does not depend on the value of the one loved but on the character of the One who loves. God’s love is without condition and unchanging. God will never love more or love less because He will always love perfectly and wholly. Let’s imitate His love for us toward the people He has placed in our life. Using 1 Corinthians 13 as a standard, examine the love we have for others:
Does my love for others endure long in the middle of challenging circumstances?
Do I remain kind while being patient?
Do I envy the good that comes their way?
My God is jealous for me. He does not want me to walk down roads that will bring danger, damage, or defeat. Is my love for others jealous for them but not jealous of them?
Is my love for others lost in my assumption that I am gifted of myself and not from God? Am I boastful? Vain? Haughty? Conceited? Stuck-up? Arrogant? Condescending? Superior? Do I consider myself to be better than others?
Am I rude? Inconsiderate? Do I act unbecomingly?
Love (God’s love in us) does not insist on its own rights or its own way. Do I insist on my rights at the expense of the rights of others? Am I self-seeking? Am I touchy ? Fretful? Resentful?
Do I keep track of the evil done to me? Do I pay attention and focus on the wrongs I suffer or experience?
Do I rejoice at injustice? At unrighteousness? Do I rejoice when right and truth prevail?
Do I bear up under anything and everything that comes? Am I ever ready to believe the best of every person? Do my hopes fade under trying circumstances?
Do I endure everything without my love weakening?
Does the God kind of love in me fail?
Fade out? Become obsolete? Come to an end?
And now these three things remain: Faith, Hope, and Love. And the greatest of these is Love.
God is love and He who abides in God, abides in love, and God in him. 1 John 4:16
(1 Corinthians 13 is sandwiched in between two chapters that are talking about the Body of Christ–this is how we are to treat others in Christ’s Body including the members of the family God has place us in).
Keep loving hugs,
Mary

Leave a Reply

