Proverbs 31 Woman

Proverbs 31:13-15:

She finds wool and flax and busily spins it. She is like a merchant ship, bringing her food from afar. She gets up before dawn to prepare breakfast for her household and plan the day’s work for her servant girls.

These verses speak to the Proverbs 31 woman’s daily activities in her home. She is not afraid to work within her home. She is concerned with providing clothes for her family (getting wool and flax and spinning it) and providing meals for her family even getting up early, before her family and even those who serve her to plan and prepare food. In the time this was written providing clothing and food were almost full time jobs without the conveniences we have today. The servant girls for most of us are the appliances in our home like our washer, dryer, stove and oven, vacuum and all those labor saving devices.

This is a painful truth, in most circumstances we will need to be the first one up. My quiet time is usually first thing in the morning and the house is usually in order before Roy comes down in the morning. When my children were young I learned to get up before them to have a head start and an opportunity to wash my face, brush my teeth and get dressed for the day. When I let my children wake me up I played catch up all day. Getting up at least 30 minutes before them made a real difference in my life. Please note: I was not a morning person when I started doing this. Even when we work outside our home we are the heart of our home and make all the difference in what kind of home it is. Remember, you are either a thermometer or a thermostat. A thermometer only registers and responds to the temperature. A thermostat sets the temperature and warms thing up or cools them down as needed.

Tomorrow – The Proverbs 31 woman outside her home

 Image

Leave a Reply

