My fridge
My fridge

Remember if you need to know the Area of Focus for the week and today’s task to check Monday’s post.

In the Kitchen: A couple of habits that have made a difference in my kitchen:

  • When you begin to fix food in your kitchen, whether baking brownies or preparing a meal, fill your sink with soapy water and wash your bowls, pots, and utensils as you go. Without spending much more time, when you are finished cooking, your kitchen will be much cleaner.
  • As soon as the dishwasher’s cycle is finished and your dishes are cool enough to handle, put your dishes away so that you can put dirty dishes directly into the dishwasher instead of leaving them on the counter or in the sink.
  • Use the time when your coffee is brewing or the water for tea is heating, to put small things in order in your kitchen. Some tasks I routinely do in the small amounts of time waiting:
    • imageFill the storage drawer below our Keurig with coffee
    • Empty the dishwasher
    • Put away any clutter
    • Straighten a cabinet, drawer, or even the fridge
    • Sweep or Swiffer the floor.

Flowing Springs or Empty Cisterns

imageIn Old Testament times, cisterns were used to collect and store rainwater. The amount of water in the cistern depended on the amount of rainfall. Many times we are like cisterns in a dry spell—depleted and empty. But we have another resource—Jesus. Jesus is our source of a constant flow of refreshment—“The one who believes in Me, as the Scripture has said, will have streams of living water flow from deep within him.” John 7:38

Last night, it was my turn to give the devotional for the MOPS Steering Committee. When I was first given the information, I was told I had 10-20 minutes. Then, I learned because of the agenda for the meeting I had only 10 minutes. The Scripture that came to me immediately was Philippians 2:2-8

Then make me truly happy by

  • agreeing wholeheartedly with each other,
  • loving one another,
  • and working together with one mind and purpose.
  • Don’t be selfish;
  • don’t try to impress others.
  • Be humble, thinking of others as better than yourselves. 
  • Don’t look out only for your own interests, but take an interest in others, too.

You must have the same attitude that Christ Jesus had.

Though he was God, he did not think of equality with God as something to cling to.

  • Instead, he gave up his divine privileges;
  • he took the humble position of a slave and was born as a human being.
  • When he appeared in human form, he humbled himself in obedience to God and died a criminal’s death on a cross.

 

I prayed, I thought, I tried to use the internet which was thoroughly uncooperative for hours. Another Scripture came to mind—2 Corinthians 3:5:

Not that we are sufficient in ourselves to claim anything as coming from us, but our sufficiency is from God, (ESV)

I had written in an introduction to my blog yesterday that I did not want my good ideas but God ideas.  Now I was walking into the meeting with my thoughts still rolling around in my head. Remember, it was not that I had not taken time to prepare but that preparation had eluded me. I was hearing from the Lord loud and clear that He wanted me to depend on Him.

I am not totally sure what I said. I know I talked about humility, about unity, and about how as young moms or people in pain we tend to pull in our world, our focus, to ourselves. I know I told them to shift the focus to Jesus, to love Him and follow Him first and that He would give them strength. He would be their sufficiency. At least I think that is what I said. I am not sure how it impacted anyone but I having trusted the Lord for the devotional, I am trusting Him for the results. The results are His, those sweet women are His, I am His.

God’s Word works. Read slowly through Philippians 2:2-8. Without any other input from me, it is more than enough. I am grateful He let me be part of the process.

Hugs,

Mary

Leave a Reply

