Thursday, January 2, 2014

Bible Reading: Genesis 3-4, Psalm 2

 Area of Focus: Your Living Room/Family Room (January 1-7)

Thursday’s Task: Sweep or Vacuum, Then Mop Your Hard Floors

(Tile, laminate, hardwood, linoleum)

IMG_0390Putting a Plan to Work in Your Home:

You are your home’s manager. You are the family manager. You coordinate your family’s activities.

  • Get up in the morning before the other members of your family.
  • Take time to brush your teeth, moisturize your skin, and put your hair in order.
  • Get dressed.
  • Read the Bible, and pray.
  • Make your bed as soon as it is empty. If you have a cat or dog and they are the only occupant, chase them out.
  • If you did not do a  before bedtime walk through to put your home in order or if certain people are up after you go to bed, take time to put your home in good basic order. Dishes done or at least in the dishwasher, trash and debris cleared from the rooms, laundry started. (When I put my clothes in the laundry, after I’ve dressed, if there is a load of laundry, I start the washer. Let your appliances work while you are doing other things.)
  • Focus on your tasks for the day—spend 15 to 30 minutes in your Area of Focus. Blend your task for the day into your Area of Focus—
    • On Tuesday make sure that area is thoroughly dusted.
    • On Wednesday, deal with any papers in  that area
    • On Thursday, if there are hard floors in the area, give them special attention
    • On Friday, thoroughly vacuum the area.

As tasks become routine, they will flow and you will be able to move more quickly and effectively through the work that needs to be done.

IMG_0355Unpacking My Suitcase: Forgiveness/Unforgiveness, Ouch!

You know what happened, don’t you? As I shared about forgiveness and unforgiveness, God began pulling events out of the corners of my suitcase and bringing them to my attention. Things I hadn’t considered in light of forgiving. I learned recently that my grandmother had left each of us shares of stock when she died. My mom and her husband were to give each of us that stock. They kept the money for their own use instead. I was stunned when I learned but they have both died and I didn’t think of forgiving them. God brought it to my attention.

“But God, that was betrayal!”

“Why do you think it needs to be forgiven? If there is nothing wrong, there is nothing to forgive.”

What was it I quoted?

“Forgiveness doesn’t make the other person right, it makes you free.”

Do I want to be free? Do I want forgiveness? Then, I know what I must do. I forgive you, Mom. I forgive you, Ken. If you had wanted the money from the stocks, I would have given it to you. I love you.

I want to be a woman of integrity. I want to live purely in a way that pleases God. I want to be the wife, mom, grandma, friend, neighbor, or simply His representative wherever I am, that He created me to be. I do not want to hang on to fear, unforgiveness, bitterness, resentment, or any other thing that would stand in the way of my relationship with God. I can’t afford it.

What are you holding on to that you can’t afford to hold? What still causes you pain, bitterness, anger, or resentment? What are you going to do with it?

Remember, Jesus said:

“If you forgive those who sin against you, your heavenly Father will forgive you.” Matthew 6:14
“And when you stand praying, if you hold anything against anyone, forgive them, so that your Father in heaven may forgive you your sins.” Mark 11:25

Hugs,

Mary

If we hold others in unforgiveness, we hold ourselves in unforgiveness

Friday, January 3, 2014

Bible Reading: Genesis 5-6, Psalm 3

Area of Focus: The Living Room/Family Room

Friday’s Tasks: Clean out your purse, clean out your car(s), vacuum the traffic areas

Leave a Reply

