Tuesday, January 7, 2014

Bible Reading: Genesis 12-14; Psalm 6

This is the last day this month with our Area of Focus as The Living Room/Family Room

Each Tuesday is Duster Dance Dayimage

For Tomorrow:  Wednesday the 8th through Tuesday the 14th Focus on the Kitchen

  • I want you to place your hood filter and stove burner bowls in the dishwasher and run the dishwasher on the pots and pans setting.  If the burner bowls are beyond hope.  (I would soak them in the sink in ammonia before giving up) you can buy new ones at Target, WalMart, just about anywhere for about $15-$20. You will need to know the brand of your stove and notice the shape of your burner bowls so you won’t have to make more than one trip.  Wipe out the area under where the bowls sit while they are being cleaned.  You may need to spray some all purpose cleaner and let it sit for a few minutes to clean out the spill overs.  A miracle sponge may work, too.
  • Clean your fridge one or two shelves a day spreading the task over the week.
    • Tomorrow –Clean the middle shelf of the refrigerator.
    • Friday–can clean the bottom shelf and drawers today,
    • Monday–inside the refrigerator door(s) tomorrow
    • Clean the freezer compartment on Tuesday and have a completely cleaned out refrigerator.

imageWednesday is Desk Day

What have you been putting off that you can get done today.  I can think of a few things I can do at my desk to take care of some little things I keep meaning to do.  If you can’t get out and around some things may be taken care of by mail or telephone call.

If you make a telephone call to take care of an issue:

  • Make sure you have all you need to refer to (account number, invoice, debit card)
  • Take notes about who you spoke to (ask their name, associate number if they have one)  when, and what was decided.  Read the points back to the representative to make sure that what you understand is also their understanding.
  • If you have to make another phone call about the issue the above information will be very useful.  I keep information in my planner about the conversations I have or I used to write it on the bill so I could pull it out and tell them ” I spoke with (name) at (time) on (date) and they told me (what you agreed on).
  • Always be polite and civil. Customer service representatives talk to angry, upset people all day long and after a while I imagine it begins to rub off on them.  Your behavior toward others should flow from your relationship with our gracious God.  I have had some unusual conversations where I was able to encourage the person I talked to.  Be different to make a difference.
  • I never give information out over the phone to people who call me about social security numbers,  personal information, and family members.  There are many unscrupulous people who are involved in scams on the computer and telephone.  I never donate to charity or purchase anything from someone who calls me on the phone.  If they cannot send me the information through the mail I cannot be involved.  I tell them that it is not my policy to give that information out over the phone.
  • If I receive materials from a charity that I have told me to send information and they indicate that I have pledged money that I have not, I throw it away.  I do not support organizations that do not operate with integrity.   I encourage you to support causes you believe in through organizations that you know operate with integrity and are good stewards of the monies they receive from their supporters.

Hugs,

Mary

I spent well over an hour on Unpacking Your Suitcase: Taking Out the Trash focusing on the works of the flesh–it is somewhere in internet ether. I will step back, trust God, take a deep breath and write it again praying that it will be more what my Father wants it to be than the first time I wrote it.

Leave a Reply

