Wednesday, January 15, 2014

Bible Reading: Genesis 29-30; Psalm 13

Area of Focus: My Bedroom, Closet, En Suite Bathroom (January 15th  to 21st) IMG_0421

Wednesday is Desk Day:

· Pay Bills
· Take Care of Personal and Family Business–Calls? Cards? Emails?
· File Needed Papers in a Way that Will Help Me Locate Them When Needed

 

Area of Focus

From today through next Tuesday (15th-21st)we are focusing on Our Bedroom, Our Bathroom, and Our Closet.

IMG_0424In your bedroom:

  • Have you gotten rid of any garbage?
  • Are there any piles of clothes that need to be put away?
  • Are your bedside tables in order, clean, and clutter free?
  • Are the tops of your dressers dusted?
  • Is there one type of item in each drawer or area of drawer?
    • Are your socks matched? I roll socks and put them into an organizer. Turning socks back into themselves wears out the elastic much faster. I buy all the same type of socks for my husband with only a few exceptions. (Yellow toe)
    • Do you have too many shoes?  (Yes, you can have too many pairs of shoes. If they don’t fit, are in poor repair, and you won’t ever wear them, they are excess) How are your shoes stored?
    • Is the area under your bed orderly? Make sure you vacuum this area thoroughly.
    • Do you have jewelry that is broken, unmatched earrings, or you will never wear again? Fix it or get rid of it. I confess to having a box of unmatched and broken jewelry in my craft area for use in crafting projects. I put a pair of my grandmother’s earrings on one of my Boyd’s Bears.
    • What is on your closet shelves and on your closet floor? Containers keep items together and free of dust.
    • Are your clothes organized by type in your closet? Is your closet well-lit?  Do you have a hook or valet rod for hanging your clothes for tomorrow?
    • What do you do with your dirty clothes? I don’t have a hamper in our bedroom because I take our dirty clothes directly to the
    • Is your bedding in good repair? Where are you storing your linens? You can bundle sets of linens into one of the pillows? Keep linens together by size. I try to have three sets  of sheets for each bed. One on, one in the laundry, and one in reserve.
    • Are there cobwebs in the corners? Are the drapes in need of cleaning or vacuuming? Are the windows clean and the blinds clean and dust free?
    • Are your light fixtures clean and free of dust?

 

IMG_0001Today is Desk Day . I stongly suggest that you try to keep bills and desk work out of your bedroom. I don’t like having a television in our bedroom but my husband does, so we have a television in our bedroom. Remember your bedroom is a sanctuary not a storage locker.

My bedroom did not morph into orderly quickly. Each month it will get better. Don’t get discouraged.

Don’t forget to maintain what you have accomplished.

 

Preparing Produce for Your Fridge????????????????????????????????????

  • When I get home from the grocery store, I put the groceries away and dump all the produce in the sink with 1 cup of vinegar to soak for 15 minutes. The vinegar removes dirt and coatings. I then tear up my lettuce for salads and put it on paper towels to dry before putting it in the fridge. I cut up my fruit and put it in a container. I can eat the fruit for a treat or put it in  a smoothie, yogurt, in oatmeal or cereal. This is in contrast to what I have done in the past–leaving it in the fridge until it gets mold on it and then trying to salvage a few pieces.

Before Bedtime Walk Through

  • When I do my before bedtime walk through I look at each room that is in order and take joy at what I have accomplished. When something is out of place, I put it where it belongs. If I notice something that needs more than a few minutes, I put it on my list for tomorrow.
  • Take joy and satisfaction at what you have accomplished. Let your work praise you when no one else does. Do it all for the glory of God and not to impress or for praise. If we are looking for praise, we will be discouraged.

 

Overwhelmed? 

IMG_0355I searched online at bible.cc this morning for the word “overwhelmed.” I saw Psalm 69 in the list. When I read  the words spoke of such discouragement. Then I saw that it was linked to the account of Jesus on the cross and suddenly the things that overwhelm me seemed so small. Read Psalm 69 in the New Living Translation , Holman, or another modern language translation. Somehow the elegant language of some translations makes the pain Jesus experienced seem more foreign. Today’s language makes it sound like something my heart feels at times like verse 20:
Their insults have broken my heart, and I am in despair. If only one person would show some pity; if only one would turn and comfort me. New Living Translation

When we are struggling with relationships or just the frustrations of every day life sometimes we feel very alone. The word search this morning began with the words in my heart that said, “and when my heart is overwhelmed, lead me to the Rock that is higher than I.” My Rock. our Rock, is Jesus who suffered through what we are experiencing multiplied by all the people who have suffered from the beginning of time. Multiplied even by the pain and experience of those who will never accept His payment for their sin. I am grateful when I feel alone, rejected, discouraged, or so many other negative emotions, that Jesus knows how I feel and paid for me to be reconciled to Him, to God. I will rejoice and be glad intentionally because the price is already paid, I have meaning, my life has meaning through Him. I am loved. I am accepted. I am free. That is not what the enemy is telling me this morning, but that is Truth. Today I choose Truth. Today I choose Life.

Hugs,

Mary

Leave a Reply

