Monday, January 20, 2014

Bible Reading:  Genesis 37-38; Psalm 17

IMG_0425Area of Focus: Monday (20th) and Tuesday (21st) The Master Bedroom, En Suite Bathroom and Closet

Wednesday (22nd) to Tuesday (28th) The Dining Room, Entry, and Front Porch

Monday: Launch Your Week

  • Clean Your Toilets
  • Check Bathrooms for Needed Supplies
  • Bring Your Home into Order After the Weekend

Hall tree closedGuests Are Coming!

Today I have more than twenty women coming to my home for the first Daniel Plan session. They are coming in two groups or we would be maxed out as far as space goes. My home is almost 20 years old. There are things that some people might consider dated, but they aren’t the ones dating it. I like my home. If I had unlimited funds they might be some things I would change but I am so grateful for what I have.

As I prepared for the women who will visit today and for five Mondays after, some of the principles I have built into my life came into play:

  • My home is reasonably orderly, so I did not have to go on a cleaning marathon.
  • Saturday I went to one of my grandson’s basketball games. They won! Saturday is Family Fun Day and I took time to be there cheering him on, not home cleaning toilets.
  • Sunday is for worship. I do not clean or run errands on Sunday. Sunday is a day of rest.
  • This morning I got up earlier than my usual early. I started the laundry, picked up the kitchen, and prayed. I am going to vacuum in a few minutes after I post this blog and read my Bible. It’s still about 4 hours before the ladies will arrive. I will brew a large pot of coffee. I am searching out every mug I have, because I would like to use mugs, not paper cups. I do plan to use paper napkins and I have put out paper towelettes in the bathroom.
  • My whole house is in good general order. I will not do for guest what I do not do for my family. My home is clean for the people who live here, not for show for guests.  Anything I prepare is always available to my husband. He gets the first piece. I am not preparing treats today but will have biscotti to go with the coffee and tea this morning and afternoon. As I learn healthier snacks from the Daniel Plan nutrition experts, I hope to share some of those foods with my friends.

Give the people God has given you to love—your  husband, your children, your family—your best, not the leftovers.

IMG_0351Walking Through Ephesians: A Little at a Time—Made Alive with Christ—Ephesians 2:1-10

What has been our spiritual state?

1Once you were dead

Why was I dead?

because of your disobedience and your many sins. 

How did I live?

2You used to live in sin, just like the rest of the world,

Who did I obey? Who was I following?

obeying the devil—the commander of the powers in the unseen world. He is the spirit at work in the hearts of those who refuse to obey God.

Who lived that way?

3All of us used to live that way,

What way?

  • following the passionate desires and inclinations of our sinful nature.
  • By our very nature we were subject to God’s anger, just like everyone else.

How did God respond? Did He stay angry with us?

  • 4But God is so rich in mercy,
  • and he loved us so much, 
  • 5that even though we were dead because of our sins,
  • he gave us life when he raised Christ from the dead.

How am I saved?

  •  (It is only by God’s grace that you have been saved!) 

What is our spiritual state now?

  • 6For he raised us from the dead along with Christ and
  • seated us with him in the heavenly realms

Why?

  • because we are united with Christ Jesus.
  • 7So God can point to us in all future ages as examples

Examples of what?

  • of the incredible wealth of his grace and
    • kindness toward us, as shown in all he has done

For whom?

  •  for us who are united with Christ Jesus.

When and how was I saved?

8God saved you by his grace when you believed.

Can I take credit for being saved?

And you can’t take credit for this; it is a gift from God. 

What is salvation?

9Salvation is not a reward for the good things we have done, so none of us can boast about it. 

Who am I and what has Jesus done for me?

10For we are God’s masterpiece. He has created us anew in Christ Jesus,

Why?

so we can do the good things he planned for us long ago.

Hugs,

Mary

 

 

Tuesday, January 21, 2014

Bible Reading: Genesis 39-40; Psalm 18

Area of Focus: Last Day of Focus in January on Master Bedroom, En Suite Bathroom, and Closet

Each Tuesday is Duster Dance Day

Don’t forget to get little helpers to dust baseboards, furniture legs and other low places around your home. Buy them their own ostrich feather, lamb’s wool, or Swiffer Duster. Put their name on their own duster.

Leave a Reply

