Wednesday, January 29, 2014

Bible Reading: Exodus 3-4; Psalm 25

Area of Focus: Wednesday through Friday: The Family Bathroom(s)

My DeskEach Wednesday is Desk Day

Bring your personal and family business up to date:

  • Are there any bills to pay?
  • Are there any calls to make? Cards to send? Emails to respond to? Notes to write?
  • Is there any filing to do? Remember to put papers away so you can locate papers you need when you need them?
  • Do not file papers you will never need again for any reason.

Declutter for 15 to 30 minutes each day.

 

The Daniel Plan—Lifestyle Changes for a Temple Fit to Serve

I am facilitating two classes of the Daniel Plan and have been asked to begin a third in a few weeks. The Daniel Plan is focusing on God and in community with friends making changes in what we eat and how we move to be able to fulfill God’s plan for your life.

  • As I learn I am making small changes. I stopped drinking anything with sweetener (sugar or artificial) and am focusing on green teas and water. Sugared drinks include juice, sports drinks, and anything artificially sweetened, as well as drinks sweetened with sugar.
  • I am working at cleaning out my pantry and my fridge and eliminating anything that includes:
    • High Fructose Corn Syrup
    • MSG—(increases your appetite)
    • Hydrogenated and partially hydrogenated fats
    • I have purchased a new blender/food processor. First I bought a Nutribullet but then I found the Ninja 1500 Food Processing System on sale and I had a 30% off coupon and a little Kohl’s cash so it brought it down to half its list price and about $40.00 less than I would have paid online at the lowest (overstock.com)
    • I plan to focus on including more fresh vegetables and fruit in my eating plan.
    • This is NOT a diet but many people lose substantial amounts of weight (100 lbs. + ) The focus is on being healthy and fit for service.
    • I also have learned that sitting for 3 + hours at a time is as deadly as smoking 1 ½ packs of cigarettes a day. The Plan gives simple moves that you can do at your desk throughout your day that will help you avoid that danger and increase your metabolism.
    • Be prepared to hear more on how this is going. I lead a fairly healthy lifestyle but I am learning about many changes I can make.

 

Walking Through Ephesians: Ephesians 5:15-20—Living by the Spirit’s Power

IMG_0351How are we to live?

  • 15So be careful how you live.
  • Don’t live like fools, but like those who are wise. 
  • 16Make the most of every opportunity in these evil days. 
  • 17Don’t act thoughtlessly, but understand what the Lord wants you to do. 
  • 18Don’t be drunk with wine, because that will ruin your life.
  • Instead, be filled with the Holy Spirit, 19singing psalms and hymns and spiritual songs among yourselves, and making music to the Lord in your hearts. 
  • 20And give thanks for everything to God the Father in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ.

Don’t forget to pray and ask the Lord how you can make each of these a part of your life. This is life in the Spirit’s power. If we attempt to do it under our own steam, we will either become proud or discouraged.

Hugs,

Mary

Thursday, January 30, 2014

Bible Reading: Exodus 5-6; Psalm 26

Area of Focus: The Family Bathroom(s) Thursday and Friday

The shower organizer in our bathroom. Note the brass squeegee. Keeping the soap scum from building up in your shower will save time and effort.
The shower organizer in our bathroom. Note the brass squeegee. Keeping the soap scum from building up in your shower will save time and effort.

Thursday is Floor Day—Ever Thursday Clean Your Hard Floors

Give Special Attention to the Floors in Your Area of Focus

Declutter for 15 to 30 Minutes Each Day

3 thoughts on “Wednesday, January 29, 2014–Daniel Plan Lifestyle Changes to Be Fit to Serve; Walking Through Ephesians: Ephesians 5:15-20 Living in the Power of the Spirit

  1. Mary, I’ve been meaning for a couple weeks to tell you how very much I enjoy your blog. I’ve mentioned before that I am slowly working into your schedule of cleaning, organizing, etc. Well, two weeks ago an incident happened with my 18-month son that had it happened, say 10-months ago, before I started working your style into my style, I might have vomited! 🙂 My little fella brought me a plastic cup, empty and wet. His shirt was drenched.
    “How cute! He’s helped himself to a drink when he was thirsty!” I had been working with my older two and knew that it was time for a drink for all, but I got detained working out an issue with the older two. So when I first saw his cup and smiling face, I thought, “look at that little bundle of resourcefulness!!” until I realized the truth. He can’t reach the sink, even with the step stool. That water came from the TOILET! ew! GROSS! Thank heavens!! I have been following your scrub-your-toilet-on-Monday routine because it was Tuesday, and I knew it wasn’t days-worth of dirty.

    Anyway. I hope this makes you smile. What you do matters. You make an impact, even in the lives of women you may never meet this side of heaven. 😉 Blessings!! ❤ Krista

Leave a Reply

