Wednesday, February 5, 2014

Bible Reading: Exodus 13-14; Psalm 30

Area of Focus: February 1-7—The Living Room/Family Room

Each Wednesday is Desk Dayimage

  • Do you have any bills to be paid?
  • Do you have any phone calls to make? Notes to write? Emails to send?
  • Do you have any cards to send?
  • Do you have any papers that need to be put away in a manner that will help you locate them when needed? (Filing)

Declutter for 15 to 30 Minutes

Walk in God’s Love

Do you have a rhythm to your week?

Each week I ask you to

  • Clean your toilets and check your bathroom supplies on Mondays
  • Put on music, pick up your duster, and dance the dust out the door on Tuesday.
  • Desk Day on Wednesday
  • Mop your floors that are other than carpeted on Thursdays
  • Wrap Up your week by cleaning out your car, vacuuming your traffic areas, and clean out your purses on Fridays.

If you (and I)have a point in the week when you (and I) give attention to certain things like purses, toilets, cars or floors, those tasks don’t get totally out of hand.

Other principles I use to order my week:

  • A point in time to have laundry caught up.  I try to run a load from laundry basket to washer to dryer to put away each day.  Don’t forget to match the socks and put them away. (matching socks is a great task for children from preschooler on up.
  • A point in time to have any ironing and/or mending caught up
  • A couple of days a week at the desk making sure everything – bills, letters that need to be written, cards to send- are taken care of.
    •  I realized that I would forget to do things if I totally put them out of sight. I got a pretty file folder and leave it on my desk with the things that need attention. I check it regularly (at least twice a week) If there is a stack of stuff that needs attention some of the upcoming declutter times need to be dedicated to this task until you get it down to a single, almost flat, folder.
    • There will be less to deal with if you open your mail next to the waste basket or recycling basket.
    • Junk mail gets ripped up and tossed immediately. I use Bill Pay so I also toss the enclosed envelopes in to the recycling.
    • I toss any envelopes that I do not need for the postmark (correspondence that may be time sensitive (respond by May 22nd, that you get on the 23rd!) or for the return address. The return addresses go in to my contacts and then they get tossed.
    • Catalogs I want to keep go in the magazine basket and the old one gets recycled.
    • Magazines go in to the same basket and the oldest issue goes to the library.
    • Other things go into my TO READ, TO DO, TO PAY, TO FILE. Check this at least once a week.  Take your TO READ file with you when you go to the dentist, doctor, when you know you will be waiting to pick someone up or have time just sitting and waiting. Instead of  reading about “The 100 Sexiest People in America,” go through your to read file and toss those things you don’t need after you read them or put them into your TO DO file.
  • Items that need immediate, regular attention go in the pretty folder on my desk, this includes things I need to talk to my husband about, or bills that need to be mailed within a couple of days. Another folder holds follow up items—items I have taken action on that I am waiting for a response to.
    • Each of us may want to include a time each day or week to go through accumulated pictures  (In honor of Karen and Linda Lou)
    • · Each evening before I go to bed or first thing in the morning I Walk Through the House and do a general pick up so I can start fresh the next day.
  • I know I should put everything into my action files but each of us need to respond to what we do and not what we think we should be doing.  I am very visual. I respond to what I see. If I put something totally out of sight I may not get back to it as quickly as I need to.
  • Each of us  also need a grocery and errand time each week or every other week
  • Each of us also need a free day to plan to have a cup of tea with a friend, arrange a play date with another mother with little ones the same age, go to the library, or whatever you enjoy that will help you feel less isolated.

My week is:

  • · Sunday- Worship, family and planning for the next week
  • · Monday – Laundry, mending and ironing, check bathroom supplies and clean toilets
  • · Tuesday-Groceries and errands (This is new for me because some local businesses have a 5% discount for Senior Citizens (ouch!) on Tuesdays
  • · Wednesday-Desk Day
  • · Thursday- Free Day (after I mop the floors) This may be a time to invite your friends over to craft or scrapbook together a couple of times a month
  • · Friday-Clean out car and purse, vacuum traffic areas and Date Night (sometimes at home but we have a special dinner together on Friday)
  • · Saturday-Fun with grandkids sometimes, sometimes just fun for us.

This is what works for me.  You know the demands on your time. Work out what works for you.

Walking Through Ephesians: Ephesians 6:5 Employed by  Christ

imageWhat instructions are given to employees?

  • (Employees) Slaves, obey your earthly (bosses/supervisors) masters with deep respect and fear.
  • Serve them sincerely 

How?

  • as you would serve Christ. (v. 5)
  • Try to please them all the time, not just when they are watching you. (v. 6)

Who are you genuinely serving?

  • As slaves of Christ, do the will of God

How?

  •  with all your heart. (v. 6)
  •  Work with enthusiasm, as though you were working for the Lord rather than for people. (v. 7)

What are we to remember as employees?

  •  Remember that the Lord will reward each one of us for the good we do, whether we are slaves or free. (v. 8)

My Notes: As with other passages on following Christ’s example, we do whatever we do, working for the Lord. We follow directives and guideline as if we were working for the Lord. We display an attitude of respect, enthusiasm, and sincerity. If we do not feel we are being rewarded for our efforts, instead of complaining and being disloyal to our employer, we have the choice of finding another job. Under any circumstances we must recognize that promotion and reward come ultimately from the Lord.

Work with excellence. Our employers have purchased the hours we are to be at work.  There is never a right to do wrong. Note that we are to do the will of God with all our heart(v. 6) –if what we are being told to do is contrary to the will of God, we must decline and be willing to walk away from the job, if after we respectfully decline, the employer is insistent. I was once asked by an employer to do something that is illegal in the state where I live. I explained that it was unlawful and that I could not do it. It worked out well for me but it may not be true for a situation that someone else faces.
You are in my thoughts and prayers,

Hugs

Thursday, February 6, 2014

Bible Reading: Exodus 15-16; Psalm 31

Area of Focus: February 1-7—The Living Room/Family RoomOur Home

Each Thursday is Floor Day—Clean Your Hard Floors

Wood, Laminate, Tile, Linoleum

Declutter for 15 to 30 Minutes

Walk in God’s Love

Leave a Reply

