Tuesday, February 11, 2014

Bible Reading: Exodus 23-24; Psalm 35

Area of Focus, February 8-14: The KitchenIMG_0403

Tuesday is Duster Dance Day

Dusting is a dreaded task for many people, so make it fun. Put on music. Grab a duster that you can have fun with. Chicken feather dusters are NO fun! They only move the dust around. Ostrich feather dusters are incredible. They capture dust so you can go outside and release it to the world. Lambswool and Swiffer dusters work, too.

Declutter for 15 to 30 Minutes

Walk in God’s Love

Today I am Talking with the MOPS Group

This morning it is my turn to talk with the MOPS group. I know it will be good because the enemy has been attacking—my voice. I know this is no surprise to God and He will provide all I need to share with this beautiful group of young women. I only have 20-30 minutes so I need to be focused.

  • As usual, my husband and because of him, our home, come first. Our home is in order as I write this. I will not, will not, will not go out the door to tell other people about organization and leave a major mess at home. The laundry is running, the dishes are in the dishwasher, our home is in good general order.
  • I have reserved time for my Quiet Time. I found Kay Arthur’s Precept broadcasts on GEB TV. I set my DVR to record the broadcast. I can now take quiet moments to study the Bible with a woman I respect and admire. So I enjoyed a cup of tea and time in Philippians with Kay, this morning. I pray immediately whenever I hear of a need but I take time to pray each morning.
  • I gathered a few things from my home to help me in sharing some methods I  have used oruse for getting and keeping my home in order.

This morning I am going to share on how to do a quick whole house declutter using banker’s boxes.

Banker’s boxes are  white cardboard boxes available in office supply stores. A 10 pack is $19.99 at Staples; a pack of 6 is $14.79 at Office Max. I found some at Walmart, too.

Bankers Box Basic Strength, 10pk

(82)

  • 10-pack of basic strength boxes
  • Lift-off lid
  • Dimensions: 10″ x 12″ x 15″

Online

$14.47

Was $16.88

Free shipping available on orders over $50

Free store pickup

as soon as today

with

  • Assemble a box.
  • Before you begin to go through your home, make the first box and ACTION box. Go through your box and gather the items you know you need to take action on. Make an appointment with yourself for that evening to go through that first box and deal with what needs to be taken care of. Label this box ACTION and put it in your chair.
  • Begin near your front door. Gather all clutter. (Not things that are regularly in use.)
  • Put all the clutter in the box and label the box with the place that the clutter is from. (Front entry; Dining Room table; Corner near chair in bedroom)
  • Have a place for the boxes. And gather the boxes in one place.
  • Make a point of going through the boxes until you have dealt with all the stuff in each box.
  • The categories are
    • To keep (put away where it belongs or will belong—make a decision)
    • To donate or give away (give it to someone who needs and WANTS it)
    • Throw away
    • Return to owner
    • Put away the keep items
    • Put the donate items in your car for a trip to your favorite charity that accepts consignements.
    • Take the trash to the trash can
    • Put the return items in a basket for delivery to friends and family—put a time to do this on your calendar in the next few days.

For Paper Clutter

  • Helen Buttigieg—a professional organizer uses the RAFT method for papers.
    • R Is read
    • A is act—bills and other items that need to be acted on
    • F is file
    • T is Toss
    • That RAFT can keep your paperwork afloat. (Grin)

Purging your family’s clothes

The sweater organizer holds my purses.
The sweater organizer holds my purses.

The closet: I bought a package of brightly colored stickers at Target for less than $2. I am putting a sticker on each of my husband’s hangers. When he wears something it will go back on a hanger that I have removed the sticker from. I am putting a note on my calendar for the end of March. At that time I will go through his seasonal clothes (winter) and remove any clothes he has not worn. I will repeat the process in July for summer clothing. Our closet has enough space to store all our clothing. If I was changing clothes around seasonally, I would put stickers on his summer clothes as I put them in the closet.

Keep a box in your child’s closet and when you notice something no longer fits it can go in the box to be sent on to someone who needs it or passed down to the next child in line.

The drawers: You can share with your husband what you are doing and put stickers on the tags of each item in the drawer. Tell your husband to remove the sticker as he wears his clothes.  Clothes that still have stickers after about 4 to 6 weeks should be set free.

These are the two strategies I will share today with the MOPS group. I will share bits of other strategies I use but many of them are taking Apples of Gold this winter. I do the mentor’s segment on hospitality and share then on how I keep my home in order so I am free to offer hospitality.

Walking Through Colossians: Colossians 1:114—Paul and Timothy to the Colossians—Greeting and Prayer

IMG_0194Who is this letter from?

  • 1This letter is from Paul,
    • chosen by the will of God
    •  to be an apostle of Christ Jesus, and
    • from our brother Timothy.

Who is this letter to?

  • 2We are writing to God’s holy people
    • in the city of Colosse,
    •  who are faithful brothers and sistersa in Christ.

How does Paul greet the Colossians?

  • May God our Father give you grace and peace.

How do Paul and Timothy begin the letter?

  • 3We always pray for you,
  • and we give thanks to God,
    •  the Father of our Lord Jesus Christ. 

Why do Paul and Timothy pray and give thanks for the Colossians?

  • 4For we have heard of your faith in Christ Jesus
  • and your love for all of God’s people, 
    • 5which come from your confident hope of what God has reserved for you in heaven.
    • You have had this expectation ever since you first heard the truth of the Good News.
      • 6This same Good News that came to you is going out all over the world. It is bearing fruit everywhere by changing lives,
      •  just as it changed your lives from the day you first heard and understood the truth about God’s wonderful grace.

Where did the Colossians first hear the Good News (the Gospel)?

  • 7You learned about the Good News from Epaphras,
    •  our beloved co-worker.
    • He is Christ’s faithful servant, and
    • he is helping us on your behalf.b 
    • 8He has told us about the love for others that the Holy Spirit has given you.

How long have Paul and Timothy  been praying for the Colossians?

  • 9So we have not stopped praying for you since we first heard about you.

How have Paul and Timothy been praying for the Colossians?

  • We ask God to give you complete knowledge of his will and
  • to give you spiritual wisdom and understanding. 

Why?

  • 10Then the way you live will always honor and please the Lord, and
  • your lives will produce every kind of good fruit.
  • All the while, you will grow as you learn to know God better and better.

How also have Paul and Timothy  been praying for the Colossians?

  • 11We also pray that you will be strengthened with all his glorious power
    • so you will have all the endurance and patience you need.
    • May you be filled with joy, 
      • 12always thanking the Father.

Why?

  • He has enabled you to share in the inheritance that belongs to his people, who live in the light. 
  • 13For he has rescued us from the kingdom of darkness and
  • transferred us into the Kingdom of his dear Son, 

What has the Son done?

  • 14who purchased our freedom and forgave our sins.

Tomorrow—Christ is Supreme

Hugs,

Mary

Wednesday, February 12, 2014

Bible Reading: Exodus 25-26; Psalm 36

Area of Focus, February 8-14: The Kitchen

Each Wednesday is Desk DayMy Desk

  • Pay Bills
  • Bring Personal and Family Business Up to Date
  • File

 

Declutter for 15 to 30 Minutes

Walk in God’s Love

One thought on “Tuesday, February 11, 2014: Routines, Sharing with MOPS, Starting Our Walk Through Colossians

Leave a Reply

