Wednesday, February 12, 2014

Bible Reading: Exodus 25-26; Psalm 36

Area of Focus, February 8-14: The Kitchen 

Keep your counters clear and your dishes done. Empty your dishwasher as soon as the cycle is over and put dirty dishes inside instead of leaving them in the sink.
Keep your counters clear and your dishes done. Empty your dishwasher as soon as the cycle is over and put dirty dishes inside instead of leaving them in the sink.

Each Wednesday is Desk Day

  • Pay Bills
  • Bring Personal and Family Business Up to Date
  • File

 

Declutter for 15 to 30 Minutes

Walk in God’s Love

It Looks Like Snow Is on the Way!

One of the joys of living prepared is not having to head to the grocery store when storms are forecast. My cupboards and freezer are full enough, and we have plenty of batteries and toilet paper. Friends and family can count on a place to charge their computers and cell phones. There is always hot coffee, hot showers, and I am sure we can find plenty of space for people to sleep, if the need arises. As always, family and friends, we are here if you need us.

I have been using the guest bedroom bed as a place to sort through items I have been decluttering. Those items will be packed up and taken to the ROC Thrift Shop this morning, just in case.

MOPS Talk  I confess it is so hard for me to talk to people especially when it involves my testimony of how Jesus Christ has changed me. I have made so many to-call-them-mistakes-seems-to-treat-them-lightly in my life before I made Jesus the Lord of my life. I was religious. I thought I loved IMG_0355God. I even thought I had accepted Jesus, but was only as fire insurance—I did not want to go to hell. In the process I hurt so many people and I deeply regret it. When the Lord lets me know that I need to share, it is so painful because it is like walking back into where and what I was 35-45 years ago. I know I hurt myself with the way I lived—simply immorally—but my deepest regret is for the people I hurt, because you cannot change the past. I am so grateful to God for changing me but it would have been far better if I had listened to His voice sooner. I believe God has a purpose for everything He allows. I believe that all things are not good but work together for good for those who love God (I do!) and are called according to His purpose (God’s purposes are now my purpose.) I only hope that there was at least one person who heard God speaking through me and will have the strength to make better choices than I did. It took a lot out of me. The enemy told me immediately that I had fallen flat and all I did was embarrass myself. I felt as if I needed to find a hole to crawl into. But I am trusting God. Whatever dreams, hopes, reputation, value, whatever I have belong to Him. So, dear ones, when someone shares a testimony they may be being obedient but the heart price they are paying may be high. I so needed a hug.

On a much lighter note, I put my dots on all Roy’s hangers this morning, then decided to put them on my hangers as well. We have too many clothes! I will be purging more while we are going through our snow event.

Walking Through Colossians: Colossians 1: 15 – 23 The Supremacy of Jesus Christ

IMG_0371Christ Is Supreme

Who is Jesus the Christ?

  • 15Christ is the visible image of the invisible God.
  • He existed before anything was created and
  • is supreme over all creation,e
  • 16for through him God created everything in the heavenly realms and on earth.
    • He made the things we can see
    • and the things we can’t see—
      • such as thrones, kingdoms, rulers, and authorities in the unseen world.
    • Everything was created through him and for him.
    • 17He existed before anything else,
    • and he holds all creation together.
    • 18Christ is also the head of the church, which is his body.
      • He is the beginning,
      • supreme over all who rise from the dead.f

So he is first in everything.

  • 19For God in all his fullness was pleased to live in Christ,
  • 20and through him God reconciled everything to himself.
  • He made peace with everything in heaven and on earth by means of Christ’s blood on the cross.

What does this mean to us?

  • 21This includes you who were once far away from God.
  • You were his enemies, separated from him by your evil thoughts and actions.
  • 22Yet now he has reconciled you to himself through the death of Christ in his physical body.
  • As a result, he has brought you into his own presence,
  • and you are holy and blameless as you stand before him without a single fault.

How must we respond?

  • 23But you must continue to believe this truth
  • and stand firmly in it.
  • Don’t drift away from the assurance you received when you heard the Good News.

How did Paul see his relationship to the Good News (the gospel)?

  • The Good News has been preached all over the world, and I, Paul, have been appointed as God’s servant to proclaim it.

 

Hugs,

Mary

 

Thursday, February 13, 2014

Bible Reading: Exodus 27-28; Psalm 37

One small way of loving my husband--Each morning after I fix a cup of coffee, I set up Roy's cup of coffee
One small way of loving my husband–Each morning after I fix a cup of coffee, I set up Roy’s cup of coffee

Area of Focus, February 8-14: The Kitchen

Each Thursday is Floor Day

Clean Your Hard Floors—Hardwood, Laminate, Tile, Linoleum. Don’t make it a career, just get them clean.

Declutter for 15 to 30 Minutes

Walk in God’s Love

Leave a Reply

