Friday, February 14, 2014

Happy Valentine’s Day

Bible Reading: Exodus 29-30; Psalm 38

imageArea of Focus: February 8-14: The Kitchen

February 15-21: Your Bedroom, Closet and Bathroom

Each Friday is Wrap Up the Week Day

  • Clean out your car
  • Clean out your purse (backpack, diaper bag, computer case, tote bag)
  • Vacuum the traffic areas of your home

Declutter for 15 to 30 Minutes

Walk in God’s Love

Don’t Put It Off

I remember being in pj’s at 4:30 in the afternoon along with my pj clad babies. All day long I had thought I had plenty of time and so I put off everything from getting dressed to doing dishes to beginning to prepare dinner.

Then began the mad rush before Roy arrived home. Heaven forbid that my sweeties were not cooperating. I didn’t have time to teach or help them, I only had time to yell warnings and directions. That was not the way I wanted to live but I didn’t have a plan and I thought I had plenty of time. Stress was created all around.

I realized that I needed to change. I realized that if I would go ahead and get dressed, straighten up my home and dress my children in the morning, that I wouldn’t have that mad last minute rush. We would all be much happier and relaxed. Now over thirty years later, without having to get up and get children out the door to school or begin schooling at home each day, I get up, make my bed, get dressed and try to have my home in order no later than 9 a.m. Because I keep up with things, my home is rarely more than 15 minutes from company ready and I think I could be ready for overnight company in around 30. I am not exceptional. I have always struggled with self-discipline. I simply realized my life is way simpler when I get what I need to get done quickly and early. I am then FREE to do projects—fun and/or home related. I am FREE to read a book. I am FREE to help others. I am free to visit with friends. I have lost the stress of avoiding those nagging things that need to be done.

Identify things that don’t need to be done and let them go. Work smarter, not harder. Take time to teach your children both attitudes and actions. Demonstrate those actions and attitudes in your life. Don’t tell others to do as you say and not as you do.

One of my friends mentioned in one of our Daniel Plan discussions that she had heard the question, “Where will you be in five years if you don’t change what you are doing now?

If you don’t make changes in your attitudes, actions, choices about all the elements of your life, where will you be?

I am already enjoying the benefits of small choices I am making in my lifestyle in response to the Daniel Plan. If I continue to make better choices the benefits will multiply over time. This is true in any area of your life. You can have a better life with better choices.

IMG_0371Walking Through Colossians: Colossians 2:6-23 Freedom and New Life in Christ

Having accepted Christ Jesus as Lord what shall we do?

  • 6And now, just as you accepted Christ Jesus as your Lord, you must continue to follow him. 
  • 7Let your roots grow down into him,
  • and let your lives be built on him.
  • Then your faith will grow strong in the truth you were taught,
  • and you will overflow with thankfulness.
  • 8Don’t let anyone capture you with empty philosophies and high-sounding nonsense that come from human thinking and from the spiritual powers of this world, rather than from Christ. 

Why?

  • 9For in Christ lives all the fullness of God in a human body. 10So you also are complete through your union with Christ, who is the head over every ruler and authority.

What happened when I came to Christ?

  • 11When you came to Christ, you were “circumcised,” but not by a physical procedure.
  • Christ performed a spiritual circumcision—the cutting away of your sinful nature.
  • 12For you were buried with Christ when you were baptized. And with him you were raised to new life because you trusted the mighty power of God, who raised Christ from the dead.
  • 13You were dead because of your sins and because your sinful nature was not yet cut away. Then God made you alive with Christ, for he forgave all our sins. 
  • 14He canceled the record of the charges against us and took it away by nailing it to the cross.
  • 15In this way, he disarmed the spiritual rulers and authorities. He shamed them publicly by his victory over them on the cross.

So what does this mean?

  • 16So don’t let anyone condemn you for what you eat or drink, or for not celebrating certain holy days or new moon ceremonies or Sabbaths. 
  • 17For these rules are only shadows of the reality yet to come.

What is the reality?

  • And Christ himself is that reality. 

What will others try to bring between us and Christ?

  • 18Don’t let anyone condemn you by insisting on pious self-denial
  • or the worship of angels, saying they have had visions about these things.

Why do they do this?

  • Their sinful minds have made them proud, 
  • 19and they are not connected to Christ, the head of the body.
  • For he holds the whole body together with its joints and ligaments, and it grows as God nourishes it.

What is true of me now?

  • 20You have died with Christ, and he has set you free from the spiritual powers of this world.
  • So why do you keep on following the rules of the world, such as, 21“Don’t handle! Don’t taste! Don’t touch!”?
  •  22Such rules are mere human teachings about things that deteriorate as we use them. 
  • 23These rules may seem wise because they require strong devotion, pious self-denial, and severe bodily discipline. But they provide no help in conquering a person’s evil desires.

Monday—Living in the Freedom of Christ

 

 

Saturday, February 15, 2014

Bible Reading: Exodus 31-32; Psalm 34

Saturday is Family Fun Day

Have Fun Working and Playing Together

Sunday, February 16, 2014

Bible Reading: Use Sunday to Catch Up If You Are Behind in Your Reading or Focus on the Verses from Your Pastor’s Sermon

Sunday is Worship with Family and Church Family

Plan Your Week and Coordinate Activities and Needs with Your Husband and Children.

Monday, February 17, 2014

Bible Reading: Exodus 33-34; Psalm 35

February 15-21: Your Bedroom, Closet and BathroomIMG_0421

Monday is Launch Your Week Day

  • Pick up your home after the weekend
  • Clean Your Toilets
  • Check Your Bathrooms for any needed items and add to your shopping list before you run out.

Declutter for 15 to 30 Minutes

Walk in God’s Love

 

Leave a Reply

