Monday, March 10, 2014

Bible Reading: Leviticus 19-20; Psalm 48

 

Area of Focus: March 8-14—The Kitchen

Monday is Launch Your Week Day:

  • Take 15 minutes to pull your home back into order after the weekend. Don’t obsess, just grab the trash, and things that are out of place and bring a sense of order and peace back to your home
  • Clean your toilets
  • Check your bathrooms for any needed supplies and add them to your shopping list for the week. Do not wait until you have used the last square of toilet paper, squeeze of toothpaste or drop of shampoo to put it on your list. Think ahead.

Attack Your Clutter for 15 to 30 Minutes

Walk in God’s Love.

Our Ongoing Saga—Roy had a good report from the doctor on Friday. We are staying fairly close to home and Iam avoiding nighttime and some daytime activities so I can be close at hand for him.

I have the nicest friends who have brought some pretty incredible food. Cathy made beautiful chicken pot pies and homemade bread. Gail brought pot roast, sweet potato casserole, and a coconut pineapple pie. I am more than grateful.  My level of understanding of the support people need during an illness or family emergency has grown a lot. We have been blessed to not have needed this kind of support in the past but I am so grateful for it now.

My Purpose:

And whatever you do or say, do it as a representative of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks through him to God the Father.

Colossians 3:17 (NLT)

IMG_0351My purpose is to represent the Lord Jesus Christ continually. I cannot be a part time believer. I cannot say I am a believer and then function in my life as if I did not believe in God. My goal then becomes to represent Jesus well in all things.

I am to represent Jesus in my attitudes. Are my attitudes Christlike?

I am to represent Jesus in the way I care for others–family, friends, strangers. Am I loving at all times and in all ways. Is that love God’s agape love instead of just a mushy feeling? Is that love a love that truly cares for the best interest of the other instead of my convenience? Do I respect other people as God’s unique creations?

I am to represent Jesus in the way I speak. Do I speak the truth in love? Do I truly listen to others of am I more concerned about making an impression of how wise, intelligent, well connected, or important I am?

I am to represent Jesus in the way I dress. Am I modest? Do I ascribe to hotness or do I seek to reflect the beauty and glory of God?

I am to represent Jesus in the way I work. Do I work as if I were lovingly working for Him? Do I work only to impress others? Do I work only when someone is watching?

I am to represent Jesus in the regard I have for all of God’s creation. I am a steward of what I have and what lies before me. Am I intentional about making good and appropriate use of resources? How do I use my time? How do I care for where God has placed me? How do I make use of the finances he has allotted to me?  Do I give back to Him and to others in His name?

I am not my own, I was bought at a high price. The price of my redemption was the blood of Jesus Christ. So I do not live for myself, but for Him. I want always to remember that all I am, all I have, and all I will ever be is in His hands for His use. I want to be a daughter who reflects Jesus. I want to be a sister who reflects Jesus. I want to be a wife who reflects Jesus. I want to be a mother and a grandmother who reflects Jesus. I want to be a neighbor who reflects Jesus. I want to be a woman who reflects Jesus.

I fall short continually. That does not mean I will give up. I admit to being an unintentional hypocrite. Again, that does not mean I will give up trying to reflect Jesus. We see in a glass darkly now but one day face to face and when I see Him I will finally be as He is. Until then I will try to remember the One I am to represent–day by day, hour by hour, moment by moment.

This Week We Are in the Kitchen:

One small way of loving my husband--Each morning after I fix a cup of coffee, I set up Roy's cup of coffee
One small way of loving my husband–Each morning after I fix a cup of coffee, I set up Roy’s cup of coffee

Here is the Cleaning Checklist for the Kitchen:

Kitchen Cleaning Checklist

  • Are there any cobwebs? (M)
  • Are the light fixtures and ceiling fan clean? (M)
  • Are the windows and window treatments clean? (M)
  • Is your refrigerator clean —inside and outside? (M) Are there fingerprints? (as needed) Are you using leftovers? (D) Do any items need to be tossed?(M)
  • Is your freezer clean? (M) Are there any foods that need to be used before they go out of date? (M)
  • Is your microwave clean inside and out? (M or as needed)
  • Are your stove top and oven clean?(M or as needed)
  • Are your drip pans or grates clean? Do they need to be replaced? (M)
  • Is the stove hood and filter clean? (M)
  • Are canisters and decorative items clean? (M)
  • Are there fingerprints or other marks on walls, window sills and woodwork?(M)
  • Are doors and door frames free of marks?(M)
  • Are baseboards clean? (M)
  • Are cabinet fronts clean? (M)
  • Do your cabinets need to be put in order? (M)
  • Is your under sink cabinet clean and in order? (M)
  • Are your countertops clean and sanitized? (D)
  • Is your sink clean and sanitized? (D)
  • Are your floors swept? (D)
  • Do your floors need to be mopped? (W or as needed)
  • Are the dishes done and put away (D) Is the dishwasher empty?(D)
  • Have you taken out the trash? (D)

Spread the tasks out over your week. After 15 to 20 minutes working in an area, we often lose focus, slow down, and become less effective. Use your timer to keep you moving and focused.

 

It was my intention to move on with Galatians this morning. If you are following along, take time to read the letter to the Galatians each day over the next few days.

Roy is needing a lot of attention and I am not sure of my time or activities from day to day. I am praying and trying to figure out what I am doing for the next few weeks. Please keep us in your prayers.

Hugs,

Mary 

 

 

Leave a Reply

