Keep your counters clear and your dishes done. Empty your dishwasher as soon as the cycle is over and put dirty dishes inside instead of leaving them in the sink.
Keep your counters clear and your dishes done. Empty your dishwasher as soon as the cycle is over and put dirty dishes inside instead of leaving them in the sink.

Most kitchens have a sink, stove with oven, and refrigerator. In some studio apartments a microwave and cooktop may replace a range. That is survival mode. A microwave is handy for reheating food but for turning out really good meals from scratch you need a stove with an oven. I will say that when we were in Korea years ago I did manage to make a Thanksgiving dinner on a hot plate. I am no longer sure how because it’s been almost 40 years but necessity is the mother of invention.

I like having a freezer in the garage. It is handy for keeping food on hand and taking advantage of sales. We make soups and stews from leftovers and freeze them in gallon bags laying flat on a cookie sheet just in case they leak

SMALL APPLIANCES: The past few years I have been focusing on upgrading my small appliances

I have a Shark Ninja that acts as both a blender and a food processer and a mini food processor.

A toaster

Mixers

I know have attained to a Kitchenaid mixer. For years I used a hand mixer –first manual and then electric. I use it to make cakes, cookie, and other baked good. I also like to make my own whipped cream.

Love, love, love to use a crockpot

I have a coffee/spice grinder. My most frequent use for it is to grind flaxseed for bread making.

HANDY BUT LESS NECESSARY

If you do lots of Asian cooking you may want a rice cooker.

On the luxury list if you have the space to store them and will use them regularly:

A citrus press for making your own fresh juices.

A pressure cooker—a fast and healthy way to prepare meats, vegetables and stews.

An ice cream machine.

What are some of your favorite small appliances? How often do you use them?

2 thoughts on “Part 2: What do I need in my kitchen? Appliances—large and small

  1. Bread machine, toaster oven (used for everything from melted cheese toast to baking potatoes), mixer, and counter-top roaster.

    The toaster oven is especially good at handling those larges slices of bread that come out of the Zojirushi 2 lb. bread machine.

Leave a Reply

