Today is Monday the 10th day of November 2014

Keep your counters clear and your dishes done. Empty your dishwasher as soon as the cycle is over and put dirty dishes inside instead of leaving them in the sink.
Keep your counters clear and your dishes done. Empty your dishwasher as soon as the cycle is over and put dirty dishes inside instead of leaving them in the sink.

Our Area of Focus this week is our Kitchen. Let’s get it ready for Thanksgiving. It will be oh so much easier to prepare Thanksgiving dinner in a clean and orderly kitchen. Do a little each day. This is a marathon and not a sprint.

On Monday we put our homes back in order after the weekend, and clean the toilets. This is also the time we check in our bathrooms for any needed personal, paper or cleaning products. Add those items to your shopping list.

I am very happily getting ready for 7 days and 6 nights with my daughter and her family that live in Utah now. It has been four years since all the Paitsel chicks have been under one roof for a holiday or any occasion. We will be celebrating Thanksgiving, Christmas, and Nicholas’ 4th birthday while they are here.

I am childproofing my home for the visit. In the family bathroom one of the drawers held razors. I have gathered the razors and put them in a labeled box on the top shelf of the closet in that room.

Just say okay!

My Roy--How Could I Be Irritated with Him? Hmmm! We have our moments!
My Roy–How Could I Be Irritated with Him? Hmmm! We have our moments!

Slow learner that I am, I am finally after 40 years of marriage learning to say okay. I am not talking about anything illegal, immoral, or unethical. I am talking about the give and take of daily married life. Roy has been working so diligently for four months on our home. We have one room left to paint and it is a challenge. This past week he has changed his mind three times about whether he wanted to do that room this week or wait until January with a couple of projects we have reserved for then(new vanities in the bathrooms and paint inside the closets including the laundry closet). We are now waiting until January. Once upon a time I would have pushed him to get it all done. Instead, I am learning to say okay and make the mental and other adjustments necessary. I also recognize that one of the greatest wages I can pay him for his hard work is appreciation and praise. If I have any concerns I will praise him first. He refinished the bannister in the stairway. When he put polyurethane on it he missed a few spots. I made sure I truthfully told him that it had never looked better but that I could feel some places that are still tacky from the stain. He is taking care of it. We have had very few cross words in the process and I am extremely pleased with him and ready to express it to anyone who will listen.

If you can—if it is not ungodly, or just plain wrong, stop resisting and start supporting your husband. It works to make both of your lives so much more pleasant.

A wise woman builds her home, but a foolish woman tears it down with her own hands. Proverbs 14:1

Love and Hugs,

Mary

Leave a Reply

