imageI shared today’s SOAP but then wanted to go back and share my SOAP from yesterday;

SOAP January 1, 2015 Genesis Chapters 1-3

Scripture: Genesis 3: 1-21

New Living Translation

Anatomy of Temptation

1The serpent was the shrewdest of all the wild animals the LORD God had made. One day he asked the woman, “Did God really say you must not eat the fruit from any of the trees in the garden?”

Observe: The Serpent: Did God REALLY say you must not eat the fruit from ANY of the trees of the garden

2“Of course we may eat fruit from the trees in the garden,” the woman replied. 3“It’s only the fruit from the tree in the middle of the garden that we are not allowed to eat. God said, ‘You must not eat it or even touch it; if you do, you will die.’”

Observe:Eve: God said, ‘You must not eat it OR EVEN TOUCH IT.’

Both in the serpents question and Eve’s answer we see fuzzy perception of what God said. Both Eve and the serpent exaggerate or add to what God said.

Apply: Know what the Word actually says and follow it.

4“You won’t die!” the serpent replied to the woman. 5“God knows that your eyes will be opened as soon as you eat it, and you will be like God, knowing both good and evil.”

Observe: The serpent tells Eve that God is lying to them. God is keeping them from something desirable for wrong reason. Eve, you cannot trust God.

6The woman was convinced. She saw that the tree was beautiful and its fruit looked delicious, and she wanted the wisdom it would give her. So she took some of the fruit and ate it. Then she gave some to her husband, who was with her, and he ate it, too. 7At that moment their eyes were opened, and they suddenly felt shame at their nakedness. So they sewed fig leaves together to cover themselves.

Observe: Eve say the tree (1) was beautiful (2) the fruit looked delicious (3) she wanted the wisdom it would give her.

Compare to 1 John 2: 16 New American Standard Bible 
For all that is in the world, the lust of the flesh(the fruit looked delicious)  and the lust of the eyes (the fruit was beautiful) and the boastful pride of life (she wanted the wisdom it would give her), is not from the Father, but is from the world.

Apply: Recognize temptation when it comes

Observe: She gave some to her husband who was with her. Adam witnessed the transaction and did not stop it but went along.

Observe: They try to cover their own sin with fig leaves (see verse 21)

Apply: God provides the covering for my sin. Receive it with humility and gratitude

8When the cool evening breezes were blowing, the man and his wife heard the LORD God walking about in the garden. So they hid from the LORD God among the trees.9Then the LORD God called to the man, “Where are you?”

10He replied, “I heard you walking in the garden, so I hid. I was afraid because I was naked.”

Observe: Sin brings shame.

Apply: Recognize  my sin as what it is and confess it to the Lord quickly so I will not be afraid to go to Him.

11“Who told you that you were naked?” the LORD God asked. “Have you eaten from the tree whose fruit I commanded you not to eat?”

12The man replied, “It was the woman you gave me who gave me the fruit, and I ate it.”

Observe: Adam passes the blame to his wife and to God (the woman You gave me gave me the fruit) Adam was saying “ It’s Your fault and hers God. I am the innocent victim.”

13Then the LORD God asked the woman, “What have you done?”

“The serpent deceived me,” she replied. “That’s why I ate it.”

Observe: Eve passes the blame to the serpent.

Apply: Take responsibility for my attitude, words, and actions. Don’t pass the blame along.

14Then the LORD God said to the serpent,

“Because you have done this, you are cursed

more than all animals, domestic and wild.

You will crawl on your belly,

groveling in the dust as long as you live.

15And I will cause hostility between you and the woman,

and between your offspring and her offspring.

He will strike your head,

and you will strike his heel.”

16Then he said to the woman,

“I will sharpen the pain of your pregnancy,

and in pain you will give birth.

And you will desire to control your husband,

but he will rule over you.”

Observe: A woman will desire to control her husband. Same word used in Genesis 4 in regard to sin and Cain.

17And to the man he said,

“Since you listened to your wife and ate from the tree

whose fruit I commanded you not to eat,

the ground is cursed because of you.

All your life you will struggle to scratch a living from it.

18It will grow thorns and thistles for you,

though you will eat of its grains.

19By the sweat of your brow

will you have food to eat

until you return to the ground

from which you were made.

For you were made from dust,

and to dust you will return.”

20Then the man—Adam—named his wife Eve, because she would be the mother of all who live. 21And the LORD God made clothing from animal skins for Adam and his wife.

Observe: God ultimately provided the covering for Adam and Eve’s nakedness but it cost the life of the animals whose skins they were to wear.

Prayer: Lord, help me to know and follow Your Word. Help me to quickly recognize temptation and to walk away from it. Help me to confess my sin quickly so that I will not be afraid of Your Presence. Help me to remember that it is You who covers my sin and not attempt to cover it by my own efforts.  In my relationship with my husband help me to not attempt to control Him but to trust You to lead him. I recognize that I make a very poor god and want You to lead our family. Help me to submit to Roy as onto You and to show him honor. You are good, Lord and I want and need Your direction. Teach me and lead me gently. Amen

Leave a Reply

