imageThis year, 2015, is my Year of the Word. I am part of a group that is reading the One Year Chronological Bible together and then SOAPing on some of the Scripture from the day’s reading. If you are interested in doing this I would be happy to share the link to the group with you.
SOAP is Scripture, Observation, Application, and Prayer. I am being washed by the Word and my mind is being renewed as the LORD transforms me.
My SOAP for today:

SOAP January 2, 2015 Genesis 4:1-5:32; 1 Chronicles 1:1-4; Genesis 6:1-22

Today I got my Study Bible because as I read and observed questions arose. I read the introduction to the book of Genesis. The introduction pointed out that the Pentateuch(first five books of the Bible) were written by Moses to a people who had become enslaved in a pagan land. The Israelites went first to Egypt to escape famine but then stayed and in the four hundred years that followed became slaves as the Egyptians forgot who Joseph was and how the Israelites came to live in Egypt. In that four hundred years the Israelites forgot who they were and acquired a worldview from their pagan masters. Genesis is crafted to let them know who they were and where they came from. Genesis also refutes the pagan gods of the waters and sky and animals, letting them know that all of these are the creation of Yahweh Elohim, the LORD God—created things, not gods.

Seeing all this I want to carefully observe what God is saying through Moses is true reality—Truth from His Word—both Written Word and Living Word—Jesus. I see how this applies to us. We have forgotten who were are and where we came from. Like Eve and Adam we have succumbed to the lies of the enemy and thought that God in some evil way is withholding from us things that are rightfully ours. (How arrogant I can be!)

One verse from yesterday and another from today are key for my observation.

Genesis 3:16c the LORD to Eve (woman) “And you will desire to control your husband but he will rule over you.”

The Fall brought antagonism between woman and man and a desire for control.

In Genesis 4:6c the same word is used, the LORD to Cain, “Sin is crouching at the door, eager to control you. But you must subdue it and be its master.”

The desire for control over others is a product of the Fall. Later in Matthew 20: 25-28, we see Jesus telling His disciples:

25But Jesus called them together and said, “You know that the rulers in this world lord it over their people, and officials flaunt their authority over those under them. 26But among you it will be different. Whoever wants to be a leader among you must be your servant, 27and whoever wants to be first among you must become your slave. 28For even the Son of Man came not to be served but to serve others and to give his life as a ransom for many.”

Then in Ephesians we see the restoration of the man and woman’s marriage relationship (Ephesians 5:18-32) 21And further, submit to one another out of reverence for Christ.

22For wives, this means submit to your husbands as to the Lord. 23For a husband is the head of his wife as Christ is the head of the church. He is the Savior of his body, the church. 24As the church submits to Christ, so you wives should submit to your husbands in everything.

25For husbands, this means love your wives, just as Christ loved the church. He gave up his life for her 26to make her holy and clean, washed by the cleansing of God’s word. 27He did this to present her to himself as a glorious church without a spot or wrinkle or any other blemish. Instead, she will be holy and without fault. 28In the same way, husbands ought to love their wives as they love their own bodies. For a man who loves his wife actually shows love for himself. 29No one hates his own body but feeds and cares for it, just as Christ cares for the church. 30And we are members of his body.

31As the Scriptures say, “A man leaves his father and mother and is joined to his wife, and the two are united into one.” 32This is a great mystery, but it is an illustration of the way Christ and the church are one. 33So again I say, each man must love his wife as he loves himself, and the wife must respect her husband.

In Christ we come to see the difference in the way that sin would control us and we would control each other. We are to serve Jesus by honoring and deferring to others. The husband’s position is one of protection and responsibility and we are to support and provide support and comfort for him in that role. Our position is one of honor and not degradation and we do it in God’s strength, drawing upon His great ability and not our own meager store.

Dear Father,

I am so incredibly stubborn and immature. Help me to see anew with Your eyes and to understand Your will for my life and the life of my family, especially my husband. Help me to let go of the past and see each of the people You have placed in my life with Your eyes and use me as Your instrument to help them see You, desire to know You more, and to follow faithfully after You. I have fallen so short of Your plan but I want to be at the center of Your will. Help me to not look at situations with natural eyes. Help me to be Your blessing to the people around me. Keep my eyes firmly planted on Jesus and not myself and my situation. The things of my life are subject to change but You are not. You are my Source of life and of every good thing. Help me to desire You above all else. I love You and I will to love You more. Transform me into the image of Your Son, fill me continually with Your Spirit. Amen and amen.

2 thoughts on “SOAPing Through The Word in 2015

  1. Hey, Mary! Hope you and your family had a blessed Christmas. I assume you came across the SOAP method from Whitney (Women Living Well/Good Morning Girls) and didn’t know if you were aware that she has changed it to SOAK (for SOAKing in God’s Word). It’s basically the same thing, but the K stands for Kneeling in Prayer. One of my sons gave me a chronological Bible for my birthday (in Dec.), and I’m hoping to get it read through. I’d like to do it in a year, but my goal is to just do it regardless of the time frame. Are you still thinking of doing a precept study? We’re starting Hebrews part 2 at the end of the month. The 1st part only covered chapters 1-4. I know Robin Kleppinger will be talking more about it at the tea. Hope to see you at choir practice next week. It has been kind of nice having the time off though. Linda

    Date: Fri, 2 Jan 2015 11:25:01 +0000 To: lgneely@hotmail.com

Leave a Reply

