IMG_0371Scripture

7Abraham lived for 175 years, 8and he died at a ripe old age, having lived a long and satisfying life. He breathed his last and joined his ancestors in death. 9His sons Isaac and Ishmael buried him in the cave of Machpelah, near Mamre, in the field of Ephron son of Zohar the Hittite. 10This was the field Abraham had purchased from the Hittites and where he had buried his wife Sarah. 11After Abraham’s death, God blessed his son Isaac, who settled near Beer-lahai-roi in the Negev.

Observation

Abraham lived a long and satisfying life. The Bible closes out Abraham’s life before focusing on Isaac’s  family. Abraham lived until Esau and Jacob were 15 years old.

Abraham was blessed by God because of he truly feared God and was devoted to God. When God commanded Abraham to be circumcised and to circumcise his entire household, Abraham responded by acting that day to obey God. Abraham consistently responded to God in faith throughout his life and God accounted it to Abraham as righteousness (Genesis 15:6). Abraham twice acts deceitfully as he travels, representing his half-sister wife as only his sister. Abraham along with Sarah also tries to accomplish God’s purposes in human wisdom and effort by trying to produce Abraham’s promised son by culturally accepted means. Abraham was imperfect but he believed and followed the One true God in the midst of pagan cultures that worshipped multiple gods. Faith was the fundamental principle of Abraham’s life. Abraham was God’s friend (2 Chronicles 20:7; James 2:23)

Application

Not being discouraged by my faults and imperfections, I must be faithful to God. I want to aspire to being God’s friend and living and acting to honor Him with my attitudes and actions.

Prayer

Dear Father,

I want to be Your friend. I want to be faithful to You. I cannot do this in my own strength. Help me to honor You will all I say, and all I do, with my every action and attitude.

Love,

me

Leave a Reply

