SOAP for January 16, 2015

IMG_0371Scripture Genesis 45:4-5

4Then Joseph said to his brothers, “Come close to me.” When they had done so, he said, “I am your brother Joseph, the one you sold into Egypt! 5And now, do not be distressed and do not be angry with yourselves for selling me here, because it was to save lives that God sent me ahead of you. 6For two years now there has been famine in the land, and for the next five years there will be no plowing and reaping. 7But God sent me ahead of you to preserve for you a remnant on earth and to save your lives by a great deliverance.

Observation

Joseph recognized God at work in his life even in the middle of what seemed to be evil circumstances. He had the insight and wisdom from God to see that God had purpose in what brought him to Egypt and then what lead him to leadership. God was reaching beyond  Joseph and using Joseph to affect lives and even countries beyond himself.

Application

I want to have an eternal perspective, recognizing that some thing that happen in my life are not happening to me but through me to affect the lives of others. I need to learn to trust God in the middle of bad circumstances.

Prayer

My Father,

Give me insight and wisdom to see how you are using my circumstances to affect others and even when I do not understand, help me to be patient and to trust you.

I love you,

me

Leave a Reply

