SOAP for January 19, 2015 Job

IMG_0371Scripture

Job 1:20-21

At this, Job got up and tore his robe and shaved his head. Then he fell to the ground in worship 21and said:

“Naked I came from my mother’s womb,

and naked I will depart.

The Lord gave and the Lord has taken away;

may the name of the Lord be praised.”

Observation

Just like Joseph’s situation in Genesis 37-50, Job accepted whatever happened to him as coming from the Lord. Job also recognized God’s right in whatever situation occurred in his life.

God does not do evil but he allows us to be affected by the autonomous actions of ourselves and others and draws eternal purpose out of those actions—what some mean for evil, God uses for good.

Application

I want to recognize that God is at work in whatever occurs; that God has the right to act in my life as He chooses because He made me, He made me in His image so I can reflect Him.

Prayer

My Father

Give me eternal perspective and help me to remember who I am in You. Help me to have insight and wisdom in whatever happens and help me to respond in trust.

I love You,

me

Leave a Reply

