Today is Tuesday the Twentieth Day of January 2015—Duster  Dance Day

I do not use the Pledge with the ostrich feather duster but only to restore gloss to areas like my front door when the paint loses its shine.
I do not use the Pledge with the ostrich feather duster but only to restore gloss to areas like my front door when the paint loses its shine.

Grab your duster, put on some happy music and start dancing around the house with your duster that actually grabs and holds dust. A slightly damp cloth, an ostrich feather duster, a Swiffer, or a  lambswool duster  all do well. If you have a chicken feather duster walk directly to the wastebasket and drop it  in.

You can also use soft paintbrushes  for dusting. They work especially well on lampshades, knickknacks, and hard to get into corners.

One of my favorite dusters is a paintbrush! It's great for lampshades and getting into cracks and crevices. Make sure the bristles are soft
One of my favorite dusters is a paintbrush! It’s great for lampshades and getting into cracks and crevices. Make sure the bristles are soft

The Area of Focus today and tomorrow are The Bedroom, Bathroom, and Closet. Thursday we begin in the Entry, Front Porch, and Dining Room

Remember your One Small Area Challenge will continue through the week so keep decluttering, organizing, and deep cleaning that area your dresser drawers and closet. Because I have been doing this for thirty years and not because I am so smart or more able than anyone else, I went through my dressers, and closet yesterday. I made myself try on everything that I had not worn lately. Some of my favorite dresses gapped in the chest. I put them aside to decide if I want to have them altered. If I don’t have them altered I will either take them to Suited for Success in Chester, a consignment shop, or to the ROC Thrift Store. I also went through my shoes and tried most of them on. Sometimes a pair looks great in the box but they don’t fit or something else is wrong. One pair my daughter gave me is so high I feel like I am going to tip over. Another brand new pair of sandals is just too tight across the top. Ugh!! Both need to go out. Again, I can reach for anything in my closet and it is clean, in good repair and fits. My son made me polish my scuffed up casual flats and they are now again keepers!

One bad thing about losing weight is my rings no longer fit me. If you see me ringless my marriage is just fine but I don’t want to lose my rings. I am going to dig in my jewelry box for an old ring that was put away because it became too tight. Hopefully it will fit.

As you go through your home, ask yourself “Would I buy this again?” If you would not spend money for it today, consider

  • Giving it away
  • Donating it
  • Throwing it out

Love and Hugs,

Mary

Tomorrow is Wednesday—Desk Day—the day to bring your paperwork up to date. Wednesday is the last day with your bedroom, bathroom, and closet as your Area of Focus BUT the One Small Area challenges continue to be in your bedroom. When you begin to become tired and less focused and decisions become difficult, finish what needs to be done and wait for tomorrow. If you go on when you are not focused and you are tired you will make poor decisions and you will need to go through those items again.

Leave a Reply

