Do you know your purpose? Do you know your priorities? Do you have goals? If you have nothing to shoot for you will hit it every time but you will go nowhere. My purpose is to live my life in light of eternity. Living life in light of eternity means I want to know what I believe and why I believe it. Living life in light of eternity means seeking to know God and honor God. Living life in light of eternity is living a life that values what God values and honoring what God honors. What God values most is relationship. I value my relationship with God above all else. Then I value the relationships with the people God has placed in my life. Have I messed up? Over and over again, I have made terrible mistakes and I have done and said things I deeply regret. I will not define myself by my mistakes. I will continue to seek to be conformed to the image of Jesus. I will continue to try to learn to love like God lives. I will continue to try to learn to respect as God respects. Living life in light of eternity means my purpose will always be to be God’s woman wherever I am. IMG_0194
So my priorities are God first, family . . . husband, children, grandchildren, and parents second, the friends God had blessed me with including my fantastic sisters, brothers, their spouses, and nieces and nephews–I never cease to be amazed with the incredible friends and family God has blessed me with. I know I am repeating myself but I am so blessed.
I have goals–spiritual, mental, emotional, financial, physical, and relational.
Sit down with a pen and some paper and begin to define what your purpose is; what your priorities are; and list goals.
A goal should be specific, measurable, realistic, and have a time limit.
Not I am going to read the Bible each day but I am going to read three chapters in the Bible each day so that I can read through it in one year. I am going to use the One Year Chronological Bible New Living Translation.
Not I am going to lose weight but I am going to lose 25 lbs. in 6 months (4 pounds per month, one pound per week)by eating no more than 15 to 25 grams of sugar per day, by drinking water as my preferred beverages. Again, take time to map where you want to go today, this week, this month, this year. Where do you hope to be in three years, in five years, in ten?
Stay flexible. Goals and dreams change and need to be renewed often and make sure your values and dreams will stand when you come face to face with Jesus some day.
More tomorrow,
Love and Hugs,
Mary

Leave a Reply

