This is what my kitchen looked like when I painted my pantry. This should not be normal.
This is what my kitchen looked like when I painted my pantry. This should not be normal.

One of my old favorite television programs on Organization was neat with Helen Buttigieg. She counseled one man who had difficulty letting go of most anything (comments are mine):

Excuses that Don’t Cut It

  1. I’m going to fix it some day. (Today is someday. Fix it or get rid of it)
  2. I need it just in case. (Are you living in a home or a storage closet?)
  3. I’ll sell it in a garage sale or online. (Either schedule a garage sale with a friend within the next few weeks or donate it and take the tax deduction.)
  4. This may be worth something some day. (Space has value, too, if it doesn’t have value now and you don’t need it, let it go)
  5. Someone else may be able to use it. (Call them and ask them if they really could use it, without pressure, and if they actually want it make arrangements to get it to them this week.)
One thought on “Excuses that Don’t Cut It

Leave a Reply

