Take principles you learn from the Bible and apply them in your life.
Take principles you learn from the Bible and apply them in your life.

1Therefore I, the prisoner of the Lord, implore you to walk in a manner worthy of the calling with which you have been called2with all humility and gentleness, with patience, showing tolerance for one another in love, 3being diligent to preserve the unity of the Spirit in the bond of peace.

That good pleasure of our calling is reflected first of all in the relationships we have at the moment we realized we are called.

I am called to be Roy’s wife and do him only good all the days of his life.

I am called to be Eve and Summer and Amy and Roger’s mother.

I am called to be a grandmother to my grandchildren.

I am called to be a neighbor to my neighbors, a friend to my friends.

Wherever I am, whatever I do I am called to be the very best representative I can be of the Lord Jesus Christ as I can be with the strength He gives me.

I am called not to do what is easy but what is in the best interest of those around me and I must wholly trust and lean on the Lord to know moment by moment, day by day, what that good best interest and purpose is.

God’s   definition of success is not the world’s definition of success and I must be careful to seek God’s best rather than the world’s best. The world’s best will not last and may lead us away from God’s best.

We live in a world where our opinion is continually sought. We form opinions based on the polls, and latest trends. We are ruled by what offends us.

Ignore popular opinion. Ignore what polls say. We must care most about what God says in His Word. We must care most about offends God. Bottom line: in light of eternity our opinion does not matter.

We live in a world where we are encouraged to indulge our appetites. We want to satisfy our appetite for food, for fun, for sexuality, for self expression, for recogntition, for love, for stuff, or for anything we feel can fill up the empty places in our hearts.  We are encouraged to express ourselves and follow our heart. The Bible tells us that our heart is deceitful above all else.

“The human heart is the most deceitful of all things, and desperately wicked. Who really knows how bad it is? Jeremiah 17:9

We are told: Guard your heart above all else, for it determines the course of your life.(Proverbs 4:23 NLT)

So we are not to trust our hearts but to guard it and recognize we can easily be deceived by our heart.

We are called. We are to be led by the Lord. Jesus gave His life for us. While knowing we cannot earn heaven, we are to live our lives, give our lives to Him.

Leave a Reply

