marypaitsel-august-29-2016When I was 16 I noticed that many of my mom’s friends who played tennis, golf, skied, and sunbathed had skin that looked like leather when they were in their late 30’s early 40’s. I saw that the common denominator was spending time in the sun. I determined then that while I would not be sun phobic, I would take care to not expose my skin to too much sun.

That decision 51 years ago has made a lot of difference in the appearance of my skin. I do moisturize, and use a BB cream with a mild sunscreen instead of a foundation. I do keep my skin clean and one of my favorite, if infrequent, indulges is a facial at a good spa. I would rather have a facial than a massage and that is saying a lot. Yes, I know you can have your own spa time at home but it is nice to have a professional take care of it for you.

Your skin is your canvas. Your skin needs to be cared for and not just covered up.  I do like to keep pre-moistened wipes to clean my face. I keep an exfoliating facial scrub in the shower and use it when I shower. When I was young I needed to shower daily but now that I am older and my skin is drier, I shower every other day and use a moisturizing soap or body wash like Dove. I also like to use a shower pouf to help remove dead skin cells.

I will talk a little more about skin care this week including diet and hydration.

Leave a Reply

