marypaitsel-august-29-2016Let’s face it, the first thing any one sees is our face. (Pun intended) One area that can improve our appearance is our skin. Last week I talked about changing our skin from the inside out—drinking plenty of water and eating a balanced diet makes a definite difference. Now from the outside in.

Skin care involves cleansing, exfoliation, moisturization, and protection.

First, CLEANSING. To keep it simple when I am tired at night I keep Burt’s Bees facial cleansing towelettes with White Tea Extract.  I mix up the products I use to clean my face changing between a few select skincare lines. Different products bring different qualities to your skin care. By using a few different products I work to improve different  challenges in my skin.

Second, as we age our skin does not lose the old skins cells as effectively and we begin to get a dry, chalky look to our skin. The remedy is to exfoliate regularly. I keep an exfoliating cleanser in my shower that I use each time I shower. Many skin care products also have mild acids like hyaluronic acid or a fruit acid in them to gently remove the old layers of skin. Read the labels to find a product that will work for you. A dermatologist or aesthetician can advise you but simply reading labels may be all you need.

I hope to visit a med spa or dermatologist in January because I have a couple of blocked pores and what an aesthetician called congestion in some of my pores. A facial can be a wonderful start to a new skin care regime. Use care in selecting and aesthetician. Go to a reputable spa. I love to splurge at the Red Door Salon and Spa at Short Pump. They are true professionals. Check prices and factor in the tip so you know what you are in for.

Next, make sure you moisturize your skin. It makes all the difference. Instead of a foundation I use a tinted BB (Beauty Balm) or CC cream with an SPF. CC cream is color correction or color control. They are cosmetic products that provides sun protection, coverage and skincare benefits in one convenient product. CC cream is both lightweight and fast absorbing and are newer than BB creams, also known as beauty or blemish balm creams. Protecting my skin is my final strategy.

Protect your skin from the daily effects of UV rays. Avoid excess unprotected  exposure to the sun.

I regularly use an eye cream like Olay Regenerist regenerating eye lifting serum, Play Regenerist Luminous dark circle correcting  hydraswirl –Eye, Revitalift Volume Filler Eye, or Roc Multi Correxion 5 in 1 Eye cream.

I am grateful for the genes my parents passed on to me, but attention to your skin care routines can help you maintain a more youthful appearance.

Products I have in my skincare basket:

Burt’s Bees Renewal, L’Oreal Revitalift, Olay Regenerist, and Roc skincare products. Mary Kay and Beauticontrol are also favored product lines.

Purity made simple one-step facial cleanser by philosophy

Revitalift Radiant Smoothing Cream Cleanser with revitalizing Vitamin C and gentle exfoliating action

Olay Regenerist micro-sculting Serum fragrance free ( I use morning and night daily)

Olay Regenerist micro-sculpting cream (I use daily)

Olay Regenerist night recovery moisturizer

Neutrogena Hydro Boost water gel with hyaluronic acid

Burt’s Bees Renewal firming night cream

I am committed to using up the products of the same type before purchasing more.  I have some duplicates from buying new product when I have been traveling or believing I was almost out of a product when there is more in the tube than I realize.

I also like Pacifica underarm deodorant wipes. Being clean is one of the best deodorizers . Many personal care items have chemicals I believe may cause harm to my body when used over time. I also like to use salt crystals as a deodorant.

Leave a Reply

